How many World Series championships have the Boston Red Sox won?

Boston loves its sports teams, and the Red Sox are no exception. However, it hasn’t always been smooth-sailing for the iconic MLB franchise. Throughout the franchise’s history, the Red Sox dealt with one heartbreaking loss after another for a long period of time. But in recent years, the Sox have flourished, winning multiple World Series titles and cementing the team as a force in the American League. But how many titles have the Red Sox won? Let’s look at the Sox’s history.

Boston Red Sox World Series history

The Boston Red Sox franchise has won nine World Series titles in its history. Here are the nine seasons that the Red Sox have won it all:

  • 1903
  • 1912
  • 1915
  • 1916
  • 1918
  • 2004
  • 2007
  • 2013
  • 2018

The Red Sox won its first title in 1903, when the team was still known as the Boston Americans. Boston would win four more titles in the 1910’s: 1912, 1915, 1916, and 1918. Those teams saw the likes of Carl Mays, Sad Sam Jones, Tris Speaker, and Babe Ruth dominate the American League, and power the Sox to new heights.

After the 1919 season, Ruth would be sold to the New York Yankees. Ruth’s addition to the Yankees’ lineup proved to be a catalyst to New York’s future dynasty, and in turn, the woes of the Red Sox. After Ruth’s sale, the Red Sox struggled immensely over the next 20 years. Boston would return to prominence in the 1940’s, thanks to a star named Ted Williams. Williams would help power the Sox back to the World Series in 1946, but Boston would lose in seven games to the Cardinals.

Boston would make it back to the World Series in 1967, 1975, and 1986, but lost on all three occasions in seven games. But in 2004, the Sox would end the “Curse of the Bambino,” defeating the Cardinals in the World Series to capture the team’s first title in 86 years.

Boston would reel off three more titles after that, in 2007, 2013, and 2018.

Leave a Reply