How many World Series championships have the New York Yankees won?

In the history of Major League Baseball, the New York Yankees have been arguably the league’s most successful franchise. The team from the Bronx has won more World Series titles than any other MLB franchise and dominated the early days of the league. But how many World Series titles have the Yankees actually won? Here’s a look.

New York Yankees World Series history

It’s safe to say that the New York Yankees know a thing or two about winning World Series championships. Throughout the team’s history — which spans over 110 seasons — the Yankees franchise has won 27 World Series titles.

Here are the years that the Yankees have won it all in Major League Baseball:

  • 1923
  • 1927
  • 1928
  • 1932
  • 1936
  • 1937
  • 1938
  • 1939
  • 1941
  • 1943
  • 1947
  • 1949
  • 1950
  • 1951
  • 1952
  • 1953
  • 1956
  • 1958
  • 1961
  • 1962
  • 1977
  • 1978
  • 1996
  • 1998
  • 1999
  • 2000
  • 2009

It’s an extensive list, as the Yankees had immense success during the 1930’s, 1940’s, and 1950’s. Those decades saw icons like Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig, Joe DiMaggio, Yogi Berra, and Mickey Mantle call the original Yankee Stadium home.

The Yankees struggled in the late 1960s and early 1970s, before a rebirth in the mid-1970s. The Bronx Bombers made the World Series three years in a row from 1976-1978, winning two titles in 1977 and 1978.

The 1996 season marked the birth of a new dynasty in The Bronx, as the Yankees won titles in ’96, 1998, 1999, and 2000. Those teams were powered by the likes of Derek Jeter, Tino Martinez, Bernie Williams, Jorge Posada, Andy Pettitte, and Roger Clemens.

In 2009, the Yankees won its 27th and most recent title. That season saw new additions of C.C. Sabathia, Mark Teixeira, and A.J. Burnett mesh with established stars in Jeter and Alex Rodriguez. The 2009 Yankees would sweep the Twins in the ALDS, and then defeat the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim in six games.

In the World Series, the Yanks defeated the then-defending World Series champions, the Philadelphia Phillies, in six games.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *