How many World Series championships have the Milwaukee Brewers won?

The Milwaukee Brewers have had an interesting history in Major League Baseball. Originally founded in 1969 as the Seattle Pilots, the team would land in Wisconsin in 1970 as the spiritual replacement to the now-Atlanta Braves. Since then, the likes of Robin Yount, Paul Molitor, Rollie Fingers, Don Sutton, and Ryan Braun have all suited up for the Brewers. But have the Brewers ever won it all? Here’s an answer to that question.

Milwaukee Brewers World Series history

The Milwaukee Brewers franchise, since the team’s founding in 1969, has never won a World Series.

Milwaukee has made the playoffs eight times as of 2022, and have had just one appearance in the Fall Classic. That lone appearance came in 1982, a year after the Brewers’ first playoff birth. In the shortened 1981, Milwaukee made the playoffs after a 62-47 season. The Brewers would fall short in the ALDS, losing in five games to the New York Yankees.

The following season, Milwaukee would make the playoffs again. Led by a fearsome lineup that included Robin Yount, Paul Molitor, Ted Simmons, and Cecil Cooper, the Brewers would win the AL East with a 95-67-1 record. Milwaukee would defeat the California Angels in the ALCS, setting up a showdown with the St. Louis Cardinals in the World Series.

Milwaukee would go up 3-2 after five games, but St. Louis would win the final two games to defeat the Brewers.

Since that 1982 season, Milwaukee has made the playoffs six more times. All of those appearances came after 1997, the Brewers’ final season in the AL. The closest Milwaukee has come to making the World Series was in 2018. That season, Milwaukee lost in the NLCS in seven games to the Los Angeles Dodgers.

Leave a Reply