Who won the AL & NL Cy Young awards in 2023?

Gerrit Cole of the New York Yankees

On November 15, Major League Baseball officially announced the winners of the American and National Cy Young Awards. The Cy Young is given to the one pitcher from each league that’s considered the best pitcher. Last year, Sandy Alcantara and Justin Verlander won the Cy Young. But who won it in 2023? Here’s a look at the MLB Cy Young Award winners in 2023.

Related: Who were the AL & NL Managers of the Year in 2023?

American League

Yankees starter Gerrit Cole was the recipient of the 2023 AL Cy Young Award.

Gerrit Cole whiff chart 2023

This is Cole’s first Cy Young award. The Yankees ace was the runner-up in both 2019 and 2021, but could not get enough votes to surpass Justin Verlander and Robbie Ray, respectively.

The veteran starter finished third in the American League in strikeouts (222), and first in ERA (2.63). Cole also had the best pitcher bWAR (7.4) in the game in 2023.

Cole became the first Yankee in 22 years to win the AL Cy Young. The last pitcher from The Bronx to do so was Roger Clemens in 2001.

Sonny Gray and Kevin Gausman were runner-ups.

National League

Padres ace Blake Snell won the National League Cy Young Award in 2023.

This is Snell’s second Cy Young Award, as he won his first as a member of the Rays back in 2018. Now, Snell will enter free agency as a two-time winner.

Snell’s numbers were rather interesting in 2023. The left-hander led all of the Majors in ERA (2.25) and H/9 (5.75), and finished second in strikeouts behind only Spencer Strider.

Blake Snell whiff map 2023

But out of the two MLB Cy Young Awards winners in 2023, Snell walked more batters. In fact, Snell’s 99 walks on the year were an MLB-high.

Snell became the seventh pitcher in MLB history to win the Cy Young in both the American and National League.

Logan Webb and Zac Gallen were runner-ups.