Who won the AL & NL MVP awards in 2022?

On November 17, 2022, MLB concluded award season with the announcement of the American League and National League Most Valuable Player (MVP) awards. The awards, given by the BBWAA, are handed out to the one AL and NL player who is deemed the most valuable to his organization. So, which two players were given the awards? Here’s the answer to that question.

Related: Who won the AL & NL Cy Young awards in 2022?

American League

In the American League, current free agent Aaron Judge won the 2022 AL MVP award. Judge had a historic year, outpacing dual threat Shohei Ohtani to win his first MVP award.

The 30-year old led the Majors in virtually every category, including runs scored (133), home runs (62), RBIs (131), OBP (.425), and OPS (1.111). Judge also broke Roger Maris’ record for most home runs by an American League player, a mark that stood for 61 years. This, however, is not the only award that Aaron Judge received this offseason. Judge also received a AL Silver Slugger award by the BBWAA and the AL Hank Aaron Award.

Judge defeated Ohtani and Astros outfielder Yordan Alvarez, both of whom came second and third respectively in the vote.

National League

On the National League side, another player won his first MVP award. Cardinals first baseman Paul Goldschmidt takes home the award, adding yet another piece of hardware to his name.

The five-time Silver Slugger award winner had a dominant season for the NL Central champion Cardinals. Goldschmidt batted .317 for the Cards, driving in 115 runs while smashing 35 home runs. “Goldy” also led all NL players in slugging percentage (.578), OPS (.981). and OPS+ (180).

Goldschmidt beat out the runners-up for the NL MVP award, fellow Cardinal third baseman Nolan Arenado and Padres third baseman Manny Machado.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *