How many World Series championships have the Los Angeles Dodgers won?

Los Angeles Dodgers logo

The Los Angeles Dodgers’ history dates back all the way to the late 1800s. When the team was first founded, it was known as the Brooklyn Atlantics and called the American Association home. Since then, the Dodgers have changed locations, and seen countless stars don the Dodger blue and white. But how many World Series titles has the Dodgers franchise won? Let’s take a look.

Related: How many World Series championships have the Cincinnati Reds won?

Los Angeles Dodgers World Series history

The Los Angeles Dodgers franchise has won seven World Series titles. Those titles came in the following years:

  • 1955
  • 1959
  • 1963
  • 1965
  • 1981
  • 1988
  • 2020

The first World Series title for the Dodgers came in 1955. Still known as the Brooklyn Dodgers, the boys from Ebbets Field defeated the New York Yankees in seven games. Not only was this the Dodgers’ first title, but it also marked the first time Brooklyn defeated its cross-town rival that beat the team in five other World Series appearances.

The Dodgers’ second title came in 1959, the team’s second year in California. Los Angeles, led by Don Drysdale, Wally Moon, and Charlie Neal, defeated the White Sox in six games. After that season, LA would win again in 1963 against the Yankees and beat the Twins in a seven-game series in 1965 to clinch the franchise’s fourth title.

The 1970s were a strong decade for the Dodgers. Los Angeles made the World Series on three separate occasions that decade, but lost all three. Two of those three were against the Yankees, but Los Angeles did get some revenge in 1981. In the 1981 World Series, the Dodgers defeated the Yankees to win the team’s fifth title.

1988 marked the team’s sixth title. In a five-game 1988 World Series, Los Angeles defeated the Athletics. After that championship, Los Angeles continued to be a competitive team throughout the course of the 1990s, 2000s, and 2010s. However, LA was not successful again until the shortened 2020 season.

After going 43-17 in the 2020 regular season, the Dodgers would advance to the World Series for the third time in five seasons. This time around, the Dodgers proved to be successful. Los Angeles defeated the Rays in six games to win the team’s seventh and most recent championship to date.