How many World Series championships have the Oakland Athletics won?

The Athletics franchise has called multiple cities home and has seen a plethora of talent put on the A’s uniforms. Jimmie Foxx, Lefty Grove, Reggie Jackson, and Catfish Hunter are just a few of the names that have been a member of the Athletics throughout the franchise’s history. But, how many World Series titles have the Athletics won? We have an answer to that question.

Oakland Athletics World Series history

Throughout the Athletics’ lengthy history, the franchise has won nine World Series titles. The A’s won it all in the following seasons:

  • 1910
  • 1911
  • 1913
  • 1929
  • 1930
  • 1972
  • 1973
  • 1974
  • 1989

The then-Philadelphia A’s won the franchise’s first three titles in the 1910s. Led by manager Connie Mack and Baseball Hall of Famer Eddie Collins, the Athletics would win the World Series in 1910, 1911, and again in 1913.

The Athletics would win two more titles in Philadelphia, in 1929 and 1930. Al Simmons, Jimmie Foxx, and Lefty Grove played a pivotal role for those two teams, helping the A’s defeat the Cubs in ’29 and the Cardinals the following season.

The next golden era for the A’s would come in the 1970’s. Now the Oakland Athletics, the A’s would win three consecutive titles. Oakland, led by Joe Rudi, Vida Blue, and Sal Bando, would defeat the Reds in 1972. The A’s would beat the Mets in 1973 to clinch back-to-back titles, and then defeat the Dodgers in five games to complete the “three-peat.”

Oakland’s last tile came in 1989, a year after losing to the Dodgers in the World Series. Powered by Rickey Henderson, Jose Canseco, and Mark McGwire, Oakland swept the San Francisco Giants to win the franchise’s ninth title.

Since the 1989 season, Oakland has made the World Series once and the MLB Playoffs on 13 occasions.