How many World Series championships have the New York Mets won?

The New York Mets’ founding in 1962 marked the return of National League baseball to NYC. Since then, the likes of Tom Seaver, Gary Carter, Dwight Gooden, and David Wright have all called Queens home at one point. If you’re wondering how many World Series titles belong to the New York Mets, we can help with that. Here’s a look at how many championships have been won by the Metropolitans.

New York Mets World Series history

Like NL East rivals Philadelphia and Miami, the Mets franchise has won two World Series titles. The first came in 1969, while the second was won in 1986.

After the Mets were founded in 1962, the Amazins’ began to accumulate talent that would become cornerstones of the franchise. Star pitchers Tom Seaver and Jerry Koosman would debut a few seasons later, and become the foundation for the Mets’ playoff run in 1969.

That season, the Mets would roll through the summer of 1969 to win the NL East. The Mets would meet the Braves in the NLCS and beat Atlanta to move on to the franchise’s first World Series. New York would meet a juggernaut in the Orioles but would pull off the upset and win it all for the first time.

Four years later, the Mets would return to the World Series. This time around, the team from Queens would meet another powerhouse in the Oakland Athletics. New York, though, would fall to the A’s in seven games.

Throughout the late 1970’s and early 1980’s, the Mets floundered in the NL East. That period of time did allow for the Mets to re-stock the farm with the likes of Ron Darling, Dwight Gooden, Mookie Wilson, and Darryl Strawberry. Those players, coupled with the additions of veterans Gary Carter and Keith Hernandez, would form a nucleus that led the Mets back to the World Series in 1986.

New York would meet up with Boston in the 1986 World Series. In a seven-game series, the Mets came out on top and won the franchise’s second and most recent title to date.

The New York Mets would make the World Series two more times, in 2000 and 2015. The Mets would fall both times to the Yankees and Royals, respectively.