How many World Series championships have the San Francisco Giants won?

Much like the Los Angeles Dodgers, the San Francisco Giants’ history dates all the way back to the late 1800s. Since then, legendary figures like Carl Hubbell, Christy Mathewson, Willie Mays, and Barry Bonds have all suited up for the Giants. But, has the Giants franchise ever won it all in the Majors? Here’s an answer to that question.

San Francisco Giants World Series history

The San Francisco Giants franchise has won eight World Series titles. Those titles came in the following years:

  • 1905
  • 1921
  • 1922
  • 1933
  • 1954
  • 2010
  • 2012
  • 2014

The Giants had a great deal of success in the very early parts of the 20th century, thanks in part to legendary manager John McGraw and ace Christy Mathewson. Entrenched in New York, the Giants would win its first title in 1905. New York would take the 1905 World Series in five games over the Philadelphia Athletics.

New York would win back-to-back titles in 1921 and 1922. Led by Doug Bancroft and Frankie Frisch, the Giants would beat the Yankees in both seasons to capture the franchise’s second and third championships. The Giants would add a fourth in 1933, beating the Washington Senators in five games.

1954 would mark the team’s fifth and final title in New York. A Giants team led by Monte Irvin and a young Willie Mays reeled off 97 wins to win the NL pennant. In the 1954 World Series, New York would sweep the Indians in four games. We should note that the 1954 World Series also featured “The Catch,” a signature play in which Willie Mays tracked down a deep fly ball at the Polo Grounds, before making an iconic over-the-shoulder catch.

After the Giants’ move to San Francisco in 1958, fans in the Bay Area would have to wait a long time before the team won it all again. The wait ended in 2010, as the San Francisco Giants’ young core clinched the NL pennant, before beating the Rangers in five games. San Francisco would sweep the Tigers in 2012 to win the team’s seventh title, and would beat Kansas City two year later to win the franchise’s most recent championship.

Leave a Reply