Who were the NCAA baseball champions in 2023?

LSU Tigers after winning 2023 NCAA Baseball Championship

The 2023 NCAA college baseball season concluded with a bang in June 2023. In what was a College World Series flush with potential MLB talent, one powerhouse from the Southeastern Conference came out on top. But who exactly was that team? Here’s what you need to know about which team became NCAA baseball champions in 2023.

Related: Which countries have hosted MLB regular season games?

LSU Tigers outfielder <a rel=
Image via LSU Athletics

NCAA Baseball Championship from 2023 Season

The LSU Tigers won the NCAA baseball title in 2023, as Louisiana State took down a marquee SEC rival in the University of Florida in the College World Series title.

The 2023 campaign was LSU’s first since 2009 and seventh overall.

This Tigers team proved to a powerhouse, thanks to a deep lineup filled with potential MLB talent and two blue-chip prospects in RHP Paul Skenes and 2023 Golden Spikes winner Dylan Crews, as well as a top 2024 MLB Draft talent in Tommy White.

Crews finished the 2023 season third in the nation in batting average (.426), while Skenes ended the year second in ERA (1.69) and first in strikeouts (209).

Skenes’ 209 strikeouts actually set a new SEC record for most punch outs in a single season. The righty beat out former LSU hurler and MLB veteran Ben McDonald.

The Tigers were, to little surprise, very popular come the 2023 MLB Draft. Paul Skenes (Pirates) and Dylan Crews (Nationals) were the top two picks in the Draft, unsurprising given their skillset and production in Baton Rouge.

Other notable draft picks from that LSU team included Ty Floyd (1st-Reds), Grant Taylor (2nd-White Sox), Tre’ Morgan (3rd-Rays), Gavin Dugas (6th-Nationals), Garrett Edwards (11th-Rays), Brayden Jobert (12th-Cardinals), and Riley Cooper (13th-Orioles).