How many World Series championships have the Kansas City Royals won?

The Kansas City Royals have been around for over 50 years, and have seen the likes of George Brett, Amos Otis, Kevin Appier, and Dan Quisenberry call the team home. Throughout that time, Kansas City has dealt with playoff droughts, heartbreaking postseason runs, but also triumph. So, how many World Series crowns have the Royals won? Let’s take a look.

Kansas City Royals World Series history

The Kansas City Royals’ first World Series title came in 1985, five years after the franchise’s first appearance in the Fall Classic. That initial run lead to a loss to the Phillies in 1980. The Royals would defeat Toronto in the 1985 ALCS to head back to the World Series. But in 1985, Kansas City matched up with the other team in the state of Missouri: the St. Louis Cardinals.

Powered by George Brett, Bret Saberhagen, Steve Balboni, and Charlie Leibrandt, the Royals would defeat St. Louis in seven games to win the franchise’s first title.

After that 1985 season, Kansas City would fail to make it back into the MLB Postseason until 2014. That year, Kansas City, a team led by Eric Hosmer and Lorenzo Cain, would qualify for the AL Wild Card game to snap the team’s lengthy playoff drought. The Royals would defeat the Oakland Athletics in that game, and then use the momentum to beat the Angels and Orioles to return to the World Series. Kansas City would lose to San Francisco in the 2014 Fall Classic, but would not do so the following year.

Kansas City would return in 2015, and clinched a second straight World Series appearance after beating the Blue Jays yet again in the ALCS. In the World Series, the Royals would beat the Mets in five games to secure the franchise’s second crown.

The Kansas City have made the World Series on four occasions.

Leave a Reply