How many World Series championships have the Cleveland Guardians won?

Cleveland Guardians logo

The Cleveland Guardians (formerly known as the Indians) have been around for over 100 years and several of the game’s best have suited up for the franchise. The likes of Larry Doby, Lou Boudreau, Tris Speaker, Jim Thome, Bob Lemon, and Bob Feller are just a few of the team’s icons. But, how many World Series titles has all that talent brought to the city of Cleveland and the Guardians? Let’s answer that question.

Cleveland Guardians World Series history

In Cleveland Indians/Guardians history, the franchise has won two World Series titles. Cleveland’s first title came in 1920 and won its second 28 years later in 1948.

The 1920 Cleveland Indians featured an outfield that included Elmer Smith — who drove in 103 runs for Cleveland — and Baseball Hall of Famer Tris Speaker. Speaker — who doubled as the team’s manager in 1920 — batted .388 and drove in 107 runs.

Cleveland also had two ace pitchers in 1920: Jim Bagby and Stan Coveleski. Bagby won 31 games for the Indians in 1920, while Coveleski went 24-14 for the World Series winners that took down the Brooklyn Robins (now known as the Dodgers).

The 1948 season saw the Indians win their second World Series crown. Like in 1920, Cleveland boasted an impressive 1-2 punch in the rotation in Baseball Hall of Famers Bob Lemon and Bob Feller. The two won a combined 39 games, while Cleveland’s #3 starter, Gene Bearden, won 20 games.

The Indians’ lineup was powered by player/manager Lou Boudreau, Ken Keltner, Joe Gordon, and Larry Doby. Boudreau, in particular, had an outstanding 1948 season, driving in 108 runs while batting .355.

As of the end of the 2023 season, the Cleveland Guardians have the longest active World Series drought in Major League Baseball history. Since that 1948 season, the Indians/Guardians have made but lost in the Fall Classic in 1954, 1995, 1997, and 2016.

The most recent World Series loss for the Guardians saw Cleveland go up 3-1 but lost three in a row to the Cubs.

That series marked the official end of the Cubs’ 108-year drought but also made Cleveland the team with the longest active drought.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *