How many World Series championships have the Colorado Rockies won?

In the early 1990s, Colorado received a Major League Baseball team of its own. The Rockies have been well-known since the team’s inception to boast high-powered offenses and high scoring affairs. But, have any of those lineups been able to power Colorado to a World Series title? Here’s an answer to that question.

Colorado Rockies World Series history

Despite entering MLB in the same year as the Marlins, Colorado has never won a World Series since the team was founded in 1993.

Colorado did achieve some early success, as the Rockies made the MLB Playoffs in the team’s third season. The 1995 Rockies featured a powerful lineup led by Larry Walker, Dante Bichette, Vinny Castilla, and Andres Galarraga. Colorado won 77 games in 1995 to clinch a playoff birth, but would lose in the NLDS to the eventual World Series champion Atlanta Braves.

The Rockies’ next playoff birth would come in 2007, a season that would turn into the team’s first World Series appearance. Matt Holliday, Todd Helton, and Troy Tulowitzki would lead Colorado back into the MLB Playoffs, and Colorado would beat Philadelphia (NLDS) and Arizona (NLCS) to make it the Fall Classic. The joy was short-lived, however, as the Rockies would be swept by Boston in the 2007 World Series.

Colorado would return to the MLB Playoffs in 2009, 2017, and 2018. The Rockies failed to make it past the NLDS in each of the squad’s next three appearances.

Leave a Reply