How many World Series championships have the Detroit Tigers won?

The Detroit Tigers have had a number of incredible talents roll through the Motor City, from the likes of Ty Cobb, Hank Greenberg, and Hal Newhouser, to more recent names like Justin Verlander and Miguel Cabrera. But how many titles has all that talent brought to Detroit? Here’s an answer to that question.

Detroit Tigers World Series history

The Detroit Tigers franchise has won four World Series titles in the franchise’s history: 1935, 1945, 1968, and 1984.

The Tigers’ first crown came in 1935, led by Charlie Gehringer, Billy Rogell, and Hank Greenberg. Detroit won 93 games in the 1935 season to win the pennant, before defeating the Chicago Cubs in six games.

10 years later, Detroit would win its second World Series crown. Led by Hal Newhouser, Detroit would win 88 games in the regular season. And once again in the World Series, the Tigers would match up with the Chicago Cubs. Much like in 1935, the Tigers would come out on top. Detroit would defeat the Cubs in seven games,

Detroit would win two more World Series titles. The 1968 Tigers, led by star pitchers Denny McLain and Mickey Lolich, would defeat the St. Louis Cardinals in seven games. And then in 1984, a Tigers team led by Alan Trammel, Lou Whitaker, and Kirk Gibson would steamroll past the San Diego Padres in the World Series. Detroit would defeat the Padres in five games to the claim the franchise’s four title.

The Tigers have appeared in the World Series 10 times.

Leave a Reply